June 10, 2016
Implementation of Efficiency Standards to Meet DOE Integral Motor Rule Requirements
Effective June 1, 2016, motor manufacturers will no longer be able to manufacture 1 - 500 HP (0.75 - 370 kW) three phase electric motors within set parameters. For more information, please view the details below.
Impact on Pentair Water Technologies Motors:
  • All three phase 3 digit frame (140+)
  • 1HP and larger, three phase 56 frame, TEFC
  • 600V or less
Excluded Motors:
  • Submersible motors
  • Single phase enclosed motors
  • Single phase 56J and ODP three phase 56J
The changes will be effective as a rolling change once standard inventory quantities are exhausted. List prices will be adjusted in a future update for the new premium efficiency motors.
Please contact your Sales Representative if you have any questions.

U.S. Department of Energy Integral Horsepower Motor Rule
Effective June 1, 2016
The U.S. DOE passed a final rule that covers 1 - 500 HP (0.75 - 370 kW) three phase electric motors. This new law will supersede the existing Energy Independence and Security Act of 2007.
The motors regulated under expanded scope meet the following nine characteristics:
  1. Is a single speed motor
  2. Is rated for continuous duty (MG 1) operation or for duty type S1 (IEC)
  3. Contains a squirrel-cage (MG 1) or cage (IEC) rotor
  4. Operated on polyphase alternating current (AC) 60-hertz sinusoidal line power
  5. Has 2-, 4-, 6-, or 8-pole configuration
  6. Is rated 600 volts or less
  7. Have a three or four digit NEMA frame size (or IEC metric equivalent), including those designs between two consecutive NEMA frame sizes (or IEC metric equivalent) or an enclosed 56 NEMA Frame size (or IEC metric equivalent).
  8. Has no more than 500 horsepower, but greater than or equal to 1 horsepower (or kilowatt equivalent)
  9. Meets all the performance requirements of a NEMA design A, B or C electric motor or an IEC design N or H electric motor.
Several categories of motors were previously covered at lower efficiency levels or exempt. These motors now must be produced to premium efficiency levels (NEMA MG 1-2011, Table 12-12, 20A or 20B).
For additional information, please follow this link.